

National Native American Law Students Association, Inc. nationalnalsa.org

November 2, 2020

Mrs. Fawn Sharp, President National Congress of American Indians 1516 P Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20005

Re: Tribal Citizenship Policy and Protection Task Force

Dear President Sharp,

The National Native American Law Students Association joins Mr. Galanda's call for a Resolution to establish the Tribal Citizenship Policy and Protection Task Force presented before the National Congress of American Indians at their 2020 Annual Conference. As a representative body of Native American Law Students across the country, we have a special understanding of the complex landscape of enrollment and disenrollment standards between our Nations. We are not advocating for any position on enrollment and disenrollment, but call for a careful examination of the varying standards.

We understand that many Nations' enrollment standards are tied to a closely-held belief system that has existed since time immemorial. On the other hand, we see evidence of enrollment standards that are the result of colonialism and federal pressure.

NCAI has a responsibility to the Indigenous people of the United States to study the patterns between various enrollment standards and the historic practices that have contributed to the existing patterns. Indigenous people deserve to understand the effects — beneficial or otherwise — of current standards, and how they will affect the future of Indigenous people in this country.

National NALSA looks forward to following the studies and discussions related to the subject.

In solidarity,

Paulene Abeyta President

MacArthur Stant Treasurer

Christina McDonogh Public Relations Director

Jessica Govindu Area 1 Representative

Aidan Graybill Area 3 Representative

Brendan Clark Area 5 Representative

Karlen Yallup Area 7 Representative Lorenzo Gudino Vice President

Kacey Chopito Secretary

Rachael Mickleson Moot Court Administrator

Navalyn Platero Area 2 Representative

Forrest Gauthier Area 4 Representative

Craig Nichols Area 6 Representative

Josey Blare Area 8 Representative